Aroma Of Being Home


As I open the gates
I am moved by the smell
Standing still on the porch,
A million memories greet me
rain
There was once a time
When I was too little to walk
It was then that I held on
To the big hands that supported me

The place is still the same
The house speaks of times
The times I have often relived
As the smell calls out to me

As I walk further ahead
I open the room that was my own
The place speaks out in ways
That makes me feel three again

There is an aroma of love
The walls bear my favorite shade
I longingly smile at my thoughts
Indeed, I smell the beauty of home

The kitchen is still the same
The counters loaded with dishes
The sweet aroma of cookies
And the smell again delights me

The kitchen was the place
Where we sat and played
Spraying dough on each other’s face
And spilling colors on the page

Just outside the gate
Is the lawn I truly love
A hundred flowers bloom
And each speak a tale

So long I was away
And yet each smell greets me “hello”
I am finally at the place
Where my heart truly belongs

Standing amidst happy smell
I sniff my beloved memories
As I explore the garden
There are footsteps I hear behind

As I turn to see the door
I give out a true smile
With cookies baked ONLY for me
Hands full of dough to play with
And my father has loads of gifts

We smile, hug and howl
The place comes alive
There is the smell of memories
That surround the entire place

The aroma speaks of love
Of the bond that never dies
Truly, it is HOME where one
Is bound to feel alive!
And together we raise a toast
To the smell of happy times
home again

This post is a part ofΒ Smelly To smileyΒ competition AtΒ Indiblogger.

Celebrating the perfect smell of AmbiPur

Follow the links to participate.

(Image source: Google Images)

36 comments on “Aroma Of Being Home

  1. murukesh1991 says:

    Beautiful..reminds me of home..nostalgia running riots!

    Like

  2. Alex H. says:

    Loved this poem πŸ™‚ It actually inspired me to write something of the same idea! Thank you!

    Like

  3. Insight says:

    Memories about my old-small home suddenly strikes through the mind via your post, Ji! Thank you so much for this wonderful post and all the very best for the contest. God bless. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Rahul

    Like

  4. […] Aroma Of Being Home. […]

    Like

  5. Subashini says:

    Loved your title! And the entire poem just makes me feel warm and fuzzy.

    Like

  6. Praveena says:

    Awesome poem Sruthi!!!Brings back the childhood memories of my home πŸ™‚

    Like

  7. sudharsan says:

    Love this poem!! wonderful one πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Alastair says:

    Love this. You just get better and better, Indy. Keep it up

    Like

  9. Ahhh. You made me nostalgic with this poem Robert. I love the first picture. I love to watch and smell the rain. Looking at the picture I could almost smell it. Loved it!

    Like

  10. So touching, so true a smell can take you to another place. A beautiful flow and sincerity. It made me smile πŸ™‚

    Like

  11. fibee5 says:

    I feel homesick lately and so this moved me greatly with its nostalgia πŸ™‚

    Like

No Judging, Free Thoughts

